Inspiring artists to create, imagine and grow...

Click here for Events/Schedule

About Us

Inspiring Creativity in Everyone We Meet!
Now located at 341 South Jefferson St. Dayton, OH 45402

K12 Gallery & TEJAS is a regional center for artists, aspiring artists and art patrons to connect through art experiences, education, public outreach, collaborative projects and gallery exhibitions for children, youth, and adults. These programs include summer art camps, field trips, professional exhibitions, workshops, art parties, after school, evening and Saturday classes. K12 Gallery/TEJAS, a nonprofit arts organization, and we have recently moved to a new location at 341 South Jefferson Street.  Our new 33,000 square foot space offers programs for youth Pre-K through 6th grade, and our teen and adult studio TEJAS, which offers classes, exhibition and workshops for teens and adults.

K12 Gallery has been in operation for 23 years thanks to the generous support of individual donors, corporate sponsors and foundation support.  

K12 Gallery holds 10 exhibits per year and is the one of the few continuous exhibition space for children’s artwork in the state of Ohio. K12's emphasis on displaying completed artwork distinguishes us from most other children's art programs. Here, young people participate fully in selecting, mounting, organizing and hanging art.

Staff Members

Jerri Stanard, Founder & Executive Director

Jerri began K12 Gallery for Young People in September 1993. She holds a MA in art education from the University of Dayton and a BFA from Wright State University. Jerri loves children and everything connected to creative intelligence. She is a regular attending member of the Downtown Dayton Rotary Club and began in the fall of 2008. She's also a board member of The Cannery Art and Design Center since 2005, and a strong advocate/volunteer for Five Rivers Metro Parks and St. Helens Elementary School, where her kids go to school. In 2008, Jerri won the honors of the Pamela Houk award in 2008 from The Dayton Art Institute for her tenacity for furthering art education. In 2002, Jerri was recognized as one of the Dayton Daily News Top Ten Women of Dayton for K12 Gallery for her community contributions and her numerous art awards. In 2000, Jerri won the Ohio Arts Council’s Emerging Leader Award. Jerri began her artist career as an art teacher for the Dayton Public Schools and later joined the Sinclair Community College staff as a gallery coordinator. She worked as a full-time art teacher, was a graduate student at the University of Dayton and volunteer for three years working anywhere between 20 – 40 hours a week developing K12 Gallery for Young People.

Kelly Sexton, K12 Gallery Program Director

Kelly has been with K12 Gallery since 2003.  Starting as a volunteer, and teaching classes, she became the Director of Programs in 2008. She received her B.F.A. with an emphasis of Painting and a minor in Women’s Studies from Wright State University. She has also taken art classes at The Ohio State University. Kelly serves as K12 Program Director, the Art Off Fundraiser Chair as well as the Membership, Volunteer and Marketing Coordinator.   Kelly shares with all of the K12 staff members, a  passion for working with youth.  In 2010 she was awarded the "Partnership of the Year Award" through the Career Intervention Program for her work with students at Mound Street Academy in Dayton. 

Rebecca Sargent, TEJAS Director


Rebecca received her MFA from the University of Pennsylvania and her BFA from Wright State University. Rebecca joined the K12 Gallery/TEJAS team full time in 2012, after teaching part time since 2000. In addition to Coordinating TEJAS exhibitions and programming, Rebecca also teaches the Artist in Training Afterschool Program as well as painting and drawing classes for TEJAS. She also teaches at Wright State University. Interested in the theme of transformation, she investigates urban spaces and landscapes in her own paintings and drawings

Tammi Meier, Financial Director



Elaine Bonner,  Development Director










 Board Members



Walt Hoy, President

Sandy Garber

Len Roberts

Kyle Hollenbacher

Manisha Bhalekar

Oksana Cerny, student representative































Left Image